San Antonio School Opening Plans by ISDs
San Antonio-area’s ISDs follow the Texas Education Agency’s regulations and guidelines as they are made available. Below are direct links to San Antonio school opening plans, calendars, and other relevant information about curriculum options during COVID-19 per ISD.
If you have any questions about your child’s academic and extracurricular options this upcoming fall, we encourage you to follow your local ISD’s social media channels, visit their websites frequently, and ensure you’re receiving their newsletters and updates.
San Antonio-area ISDs’ 2020-2021 School Calendars
Texas Education Agency’s Guidance on Individuals Confirmed or Suspected with COVID-19
Any individuals who themselves either:
(A) are lab-confirmed to have COVID-19; or
(B) experience the symptoms of COVID-19 (listed below) must stay at home throughout the infection period, and cannot return to campus until the school system screens the individual to determine any of the below conditions for campus re-entry have been met:
In the case of an individual who was diagnosed with COVID-19, the individual may return to school when all three of the following criteria are met:
i.at least three days (72 hours) have passed since recovery (resolution of fever without the use of fever-reducing medications); the individual has improvement in symptoms (e.g., cough, shortness of breath); and iii.at least ten days have passed since symptoms first appeared.
- In the case of an individual who has symptoms that could be COVID-19 and who is not evaluated by a medical professional or tested for COVID-19, such individual is assumed to have COVID-19, and the individual may not return to the campus until the individual has completed the same three-step set of criteria listed above.
- If the individual has symptoms that could be COVID-19 and wants to return to school before completing the above stay at home period, the individual must either (a) obtain a medical professional’s note clearing the individual for return based on an alternative diagnosis or (b) receive two separate confirmations at least 24 hours apart that they are free of COVID via acute infection tests at an approved COVID-19 testing location found at https://tdem.texas.gov/covid-19/.
Required Actions if Individuals with Lab-Confirmed Cases Have Been in a School
- If an individual who has been in a school is lab-confirmed to have COVID-19, the school must notify its local health department, in accordance with applicable federal, state and local laws and regulations, including confidentiality requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA). 5
- Schools must close off areas that are heavily used by the individual with the lab-confirmed case (student, teacher, or staff) until the non-porous surfaces in those areas can be disinfected, unless more than 3 days have already passed since that person was on campus.
- Consistent with school notification requirements for other communicable diseases, and consistent with legal confidentiality requirements, schools must notify all teachers, staff, and families of all students in a school if a lab-confirmed COVID-19 case is identified among students, teachers or staff who participate in any on campus activities.
In evaluating whether an individual has symptoms consistent with COVID-19, consider the following questions:
Has the individual recently begun experiencing any of the following in a way that is not normal for them?
- Feeling feverish or a measured temperature greater than or equal to 100.0 degrees Fahrenheit
- Loss of taste or smell
- Difficulty Breathing
- Shortness of breath
- Sore throat
- Shaking or exaggerated shivering
- Significant muscle pain
Definition of Close Contact
As referenced in the TEA Guidelines: For clarity, close contact is defined as: (a) being directly exposed to infectious secretions (e.g., being coughed on while not wearing a mask or face shield); or (b) being within 6 feet for a cumulative duration of 15 minutes, while not wearing a mask or face shield; if either occurred at any time in the last 14 days at the same time the infected individual was infectious.
Individuals are presumed infectious at least two days prior to symptom onset or, in the case of asymptomatic individuals who are lab-confirmed with COVID-19, two days prior to the confirming lab test.
Find information related to your school district’s COVID-19 response here.